Smart Export Guarantee rates, every supplier, read from their own pages
What each supplier pays for the electricity your panels send back, in one table, sorted by who is allowed to have it. Every rate links to the supplier's own page and carries the date we read it.
Figures on this page last checked 24 October 2026. Each carries its own receipt with its own date.
Rates as of 24 October 2026. Every one of the 31 rates below was read from the supplier's own page on 24 October 2026. If a rate here disagrees with the supplier's page today, the supplier's page wins.
Once your panels are up you can be paid for the electricity you send back to the grid. Suppliers set their own rates and Ofgem does not set a floor beyond it having to be above zero, so the difference between the best and worst deals is enormous. Shopping around is the whole game. The rules that make that true are Ofgem's: Suppliers with 150,000 or more domestic customers must offer a tariff and set their own rate, which must be above zero. You need MCS or equivalent certification and a meter that records export half-hourly. Great Britain only. Ofgem does not publish a league table, and the suppliers do not advertise each other's rates, which is why a page like this one has to exist.
The receipt
Suppliers with 150,000 or more domestic customers must offer a tariff and set their own rate, which must be above zero. You need MCS or equivalent certification and a meter that records export half-hourly. Great Britain only.
scheme rules
Covers 1 January 2020 onwards.
The table
Three tiers, because who you are decides what you can have. The first tier is open to anyone with a qualifying system. The second needs you to buy your electricity from that supplier. The third needs that supplier to have fitted the panels.
| Supplier | Tariff | Rate | Who can get it | Fixed or variable | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open to anyone | ||||||
| Fuse Energy | Single Rate Variable Export | 13p/kWh | Anyone, including people who buy their electricity elsewhere | Variable | Fuse Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| E.ON Next | Next Flex Export v1 | 6p/kWh | Anyone | Variable | E.ON Next | 2026-10-24 |
| ScottishPower | SmartGen | 6p/kWh | Anyone | Variable | ScottishPower | 2026-10-24 |
| Pozitive Energy | SEG | 5p/kWh | Anyone who owns the system; supply from Pozitive not required | Not stated | Pozitive Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| So Energy | So Export Flex | 4.5p/kWh | Anyone | Variable | So Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| Octopus | SEG | 4.1p/kWh | Anyone | Fixed | Octopus Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| Good Energy | Export Only | 4p/kWh | Anyone at an address Good Energy can supply, not prepayment | Variable | Good Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| OVO | SEG | 4p/kWh | Anyone | Not stated | OVO | 2026-10-24 |
| British Gas | Export SEG | 3p/kWh | Anyone | Variable | British Gas | 2026-10-24 |
| E (Gas and Electricity) | SEG | 3p/kWh | Anyone | Variable | E (Gas and Electricity) | 2026-10-24 |
| EDF | SEG Export Variable | 3p/kWh | Anyone | Variable | EDF | 2026-10-24 |
| Ruby Energy | SEG | 3p/kWh | Anyone; no switch of electricity supplier required | Variable | Ruby Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| Utilita | SEG | 3p/kWh | Anyone | Not stated | Utilita | 2026-10-24 |
| Utility Warehouse | SEG Standard | 2p/kWh | Anyone | Variable | Utility Warehouse | 2026-10-24 |
| For that supplier's electricity customers | ||||||
| Octopus | Prime Outgoing Octopus | 16p/kWh from 4pm to 7pm, 9p/kWh the rest of the day | Octopus electricity customers with solar and a home battery | Fixed, 12 months, time-of-use | Octopus Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| E.ON Next | Next Export Exclusive v3 | 13p/kWh | E.ON Next electricity customers not on a time-of-use tariff | Fixed, 12 months | E.ON Next | 2026-10-24 |
| EDF | Export 12m V2 | 13p/kWh | EDF electricity customers | Fixed, 12 months | EDF | 2026-10-24 |
| British Gas | Export Premium | 12p/kWh | British Gas electricity customers, systems of 15 kW or less | Variable | British Gas | 2026-10-24 |
| Good Energy | Solar Savings | 12p/kWh | Good Energy electricity customers | Variable | Good Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| OVO | SEG Beyond Exclusive | 12p/kWh | OVO electricity customers, systems under 30 kW | Not stated | OVO | 2026-10-24 |
| Octopus | Outgoing Octopus | 12p/kWh | Octopus electricity customers | Variable | Octopus Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| ScottishPower | SmartGen Premium | 12p/kWh | ScottishPower electricity customers | Variable | ScottishPower | 2026-10-24 |
| British Gas | Export Extra | 8p/kWh | British Gas electricity customers, systems over 15 kW | Variable | British Gas | 2026-10-24 |
| Utility Warehouse | SEG Bundle | 8p/kWh | UW energy customers taking two other UW services | Variable | Utility Warehouse | 2026-10-24 |
| EDF | SEG Export Variable Value | 5.6p/kWh | EDF electricity customers | Variable | EDF | 2026-10-24 |
| Octopus | Agile Outgoing Octopus | Wholesale-linked, no fixed figure | Octopus electricity customers with storage | Variable half-hourly, 12-month term | Octopus Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| Where that supplier installed the system | ||||||
| Good Energy | Solar Savings Exclusive | 25p/kWh | Good Energy Solar installed the panels and battery, Good Energy electricity customer | Fixed, 12 months | Good Energy | 2026-10-24 |
| OVO | SEG Install Exclusive | Up to 20p/kWh | OVO installed the panels and battery, OVO electricity customer, systems under 30 kW | Not stated | OVO | 2026-10-24 |
| EDF | Export Exclusive 12m V3 | 18p/kWh | EDF installed the system after 2 March 2026 | Fixed, 12 months | EDF | 2026-10-24 |
| E.ON Next | Next Export Premium v3 | 17.5p/kWh | E.ON installed the system, E.ON Next customer, 15 kW or less | Fixed, 12 months | E.ON Next | 2026-10-24 |
| ScottishPower | SmartGen Premium Plus | 15p/kWh | ScottishPower installed the system and supplies the electricity | Variable | ScottishPower | 2026-10-24 |
The receipt
Open to anyone 2p to 13p · supplier customers 5.6p to 16p · installed-by-supplier 15p to 25p
pence per kWh exported, span across all three tiers
Covers 25 September 2026 onwards.
Source: Supplier tariff pages, listed individually · checked 2026-10-24 · JSON
By supplier
The suppliers people search for by name each have a page of their own: their tariffs, who can have each, what they ask for before you apply, and where their rates sit in this table.
- Octopus export rates: Outgoing Octopus and the Octopus SEG tariff, with who can get each.
- ScottishPower SmartGen: SmartGen, SmartGen Premium and Premium Plus, with who can get each.
- British Gas export rates: Export Premium, Export Extra and Export SEG, with who can get each.
- EDF export tariff: EDF's export tariff, all four rates, with who can get each.
- E.ON Next export rates: Next Flex Export, Next Export Exclusive and Premium, with who can get each.
SEG application form: is there one?
People look for a single form. Ofgem publishes the rules, quoted at the top of this page, and each supplier sets its own rate. The application is the supplier's. You apply on that supplier's own site, and the documents and the order of steps are different on every one of them. Hearthsum does not take applications, and it does not ask for your details.
On each of the five supplier pages above, the steps that supplier publishes are under "How to apply". That list is the form, written out, with the receipt for where it was read.
Read the bottom row and the top row. Export rates by supplier, read from their own pages. Three tiers: what anyone can get, what you get as their electricity customer, and what you get if they installed the system. The gap between the bottom and the top is more than tenfold.
"Best rate" depends on who supplies your electricity. The highest export rate on the board, but only if that supplier installed your system. Worth weighing the extra pence against whatever their installation quote is. The same pattern runs down the table: the top of every supplier's list is reserved for its own customers or its own installations, and the rate it offers everyone else is near the bottom. So the best rate for you is the best row you actually qualify for, which is usually a shorter list than the table.
The receipt
25p/kWh, Good Energy Solar Savings Exclusive
pence per kWh exported
Covers 8 September 2026 onwards.
Source: Good Energy · checked 2026-10-24 · JSON
Row by row
What each row does not fit in a cell. Where a supplier's page is undated, or the only date on it is old, it says so here rather than nowhere.
Notes on every row
- Fuse Energy Single Rate Variable Export. The best open-to-anyone rate we found, by a distance, and Fuse says in writing that you do not need to buy your electricity from them. It is a variable rate announced in July, so check it is still the rate on offer before you sign up. JSON
- E.ON Next Next Flex Export v1. E.ON Next's rate for anyone, new or existing customers, whoever supplies their electricity. JSON
- ScottishPower SmartGen. ScottishPower's rate for anyone, whoever supplies their electricity. Its page dates its rates to August 2025. JSON
- Pozitive Energy SEG. A smaller, mostly business supplier that volunteers for the scheme. Its page does not ask you to buy your electricity from it. JSON
- So Energy So Export Flex. So Energy's open rate. Their FAQ says you can keep your current supplier for your normal supply. JSON
- Octopus SEG. Octopus's rate for people who buy their electricity elsewhere. Their page is open about the fact that their own customers get more. JSON
- Good Energy Export Only. This row comes from Good Energy's tariff information label dated April 2024, which its tariff labels page still lists as open. Good Energy's main export page does not mention it. Ask before relying on it. JSON
- OVO SEG. OVO's page carries an October 2024 date: the only date on it is a footnote reading correct at 1 October 2024. The rates may be current, but the page does not say so. JSON
- British Gas Export SEG. British Gas's rate for people who buy their electricity elsewhere. JSON
- E (Gas and Electricity) SEG. E's single export tariff, variable, with no requirement to buy your electricity from E. JSON
- EDF SEG Export Variable. EDF's rate for people who buy their electricity elsewhere. JSON
- Ruby Energy SEG. A voluntary supplier's rate, and its page says plainly you do not have to switch to it. JSON
- Utilita SEG. Utilita's rate, open to people who are not its customers. JSON
- Utility Warehouse SEG Standard. The lowest rate on the board. Utility Warehouse's page says this rate has applied since May 2022. JSON
- Octopus Prime Outgoing Octopus. Two rates by time of day. The 16p only applies between 4pm and 7pm, so it suits a battery that can hold the day's export until then. Without a battery, the 9p is closer to what you would see. JSON
- E.ON Next Next Export Exclusive v3. E.ON Next's fixed customer rate. Not available alongside their time-of-use import tariffs. JSON
- EDF Export 12m V2. EDF's fixed customer rate. At least one comparison site lists a higher figure. EDF's own page says this one. JSON
- British Gas Export Premium. British Gas's customer rate for ordinary home systems. JSON
- Good Energy Solar Savings. Good Energy's customer rate. New customers switch their supply to Good Energy first. JSON
- OVO SEG Beyond Exclusive. OVO's page carries an October 2024 date: the only date on it is a footnote reading correct at 1 October 2024. The rates may be current, but the page does not say so. JSON
- Octopus Outgoing Octopus. Octopus's flat customer rate. Their page says it pairs only with certain import tariffs, so check yours qualifies. JSON
- ScottishPower SmartGen Premium. ScottishPower's customer rate. JSON
- British Gas Export Extra. For systems over 15 kW, which is bigger than almost any house roof. Most homes want the Export Premium row instead. JSON
- Utility Warehouse SEG Bundle. The higher Utility Warehouse rate needs their energy and two other services from them. Price the bundle, not the rate. JSON
- EDF SEG Export Variable Value. EDF's lower customer rate. Their fixed customer rate, further down the tier, pays more. JSON
- Octopus Agile Outgoing Octopus. The rate follows the wholesale market half hour by half hour, so there is no figure to put in the table. It is for people with a battery who want to play the peaks. JSON
- Good Energy Solar Savings Exclusive. The highest rate on the board, and the most conditional: their installation and their supply, both. JSON
- OVO SEG Install Exclusive. Up to 20p, which means the full rate needs OVO to have fitted both panels and a battery. OVO's page carries an October 2024 date: the only date on it is a footnote reading correct at 1 October 2024. The rates may be current, but the page does not say so. The same page pays 15p if OVO fits the panels without a battery. JSON
- EDF Export Exclusive 12m V3. For systems EDF fitted from March 2026 onwards. Earlier EDF installations are on older versions of this tariff, which EDF's page lists separately. JSON
- E.ON Next Next Export Premium v3. For systems E.ON fitted, on E.ON Next supply. JSON
- ScottishPower SmartGen Premium Plus. For systems ScottishPower fitted, on ScottishPower supply. JSON
What to do with it
Ofgem's rule is that your export payments, your electricity supply and your gas supply can each be with a different company. So you can take an open-to-anyone export tariff from one supplier and keep buying your electricity from another. The catch is in the table: the higher rates are mostly reserved for that supplier's own customers, so switching your export alone gets you the open tier.
The receipt
You can use one company for export payments and another for your electricity supply
scheme rule
The source page carries no date. Read 24 October 2026.
So there are two moves. If you are happy with your electricity supplier, take the best open-to-anyone row and leave the rest alone. If you are thinking of switching supplier anyway, look at the customer tier first, because the export rate you would get is part of the price of the switch. Either way, the rate on its own tells you nothing about pounds: that depends on how much you export, which depends on your system, your battery and your habits, and we do not have a figure for that we would put our name to. The payback period page runs the whole sum for one example house, using MCS's published method for how much a home exports, at two rates open to anyone.
Questions people actually ask
Is there a Smart Export Guarantee (SEG) application form?
Not one form that every supplier uses. Ofgem sets the rules and the suppliers set the rates. You apply to the supplier you want to be paid by, on its own site. The five suppliers with a page here each list what they ask for and the order they describe.
What is the best Smart Export Guarantee rate?
It depends which tier you are in. The highest figure on the board is 25p/kWh, Good Energy Solar Savings Exclusive, and it needs that supplier to have fitted your panels and battery and to be selling you your electricity. The best rate open to absolutely anyone is at the top of the first tier in the table, and it is a fraction of that. Read your tier, not the headline.
Do I have to export to the supplier I buy my electricity from?
No. You can use one company for export payments and another for your electricity supply. Ofgem says so, and several suppliers' pages say the same. The higher rates are mostly reserved for that supplier's own customers, though, so the freedom to split mainly buys you the open tier.
What is the best export rate if I do not want to switch supplier?
The top of the open-to-anyone tier: Fuse Energy's Single Rate Variable Export at 13p/kWh, as we read it on 24 October 2026. Open tariffs are usually variable, so check the supplier's own page for today's rate before you apply.
Can I get the Smart Export Guarantee in Northern Ireland?
No. The scheme is Great Britain only, which is in Ofgem's rules quoted at the top of this page.
How current is this table?
Rates as of 24 October 2026. Every row shows the date we read the supplier's page, and every row is due a re-check a month after that. Where the supplier's own page carries a date, the row notes say what it is, including the ones that are old. If a rate here disagrees with a supplier's page today, the supplier's page wins, and we would like to know.